IGU-Krishnan Medal

The Indian Geophysical Union had instituted KRISHNAN MEDAL to be awarded each year to an outstanding geophysicist/geologist whose age does not exceed 40 years (on 1st January of the year) and for his outstanding work in specific branches of geophysics/geology and   related geosciences.  Nominations each year are called from the members of the Executive Council, past recipients of the medal and past Presidents for the award of KRISHNAN MEDAL and constitute an Expert Committee to make the selection for each year. The medallist is presented the award at the annual meeting.  Nominations, along with the bio-data, accompanied by 4 copies of the reprints of 3 important publications of the candidates should be sent to the Secretary, Indian Geophysical Union, by 31st July, of the year.   From 1993 Gold Medal is awarded to the recipient.

1964 Dr.Manik Talwani
1965 Dr.D.Lal
1966 Dr.H.M.Iyer
1967 Dr.S.Balakrishna
1968 Dr.A.Jayaraman
1969 Dr.Supriya Roy
1970 Dr.C.Radhakrishna Murthy
1971 Dr.D.N.Avasthi
1972 Prof.D.Gupta Sarma
1973 Dr.K.V.Raghava Rao
1974 Dr.J.G.Negi
1975 Dr.R.K.Verma
1976 Dr.K.L.Kaila
1977 Dr.M.B.Ramachandran Nair
1978 Dr.H.K.Gupta
1979 Prof.V.K.Gaur
1980 Dr.S.K.Verma
1981 Dr.S.Krishnaswamy
1982 Dr.K.Gopalan
1983 Dr.I.V.Radhakrishna Murthy
1984 Prof.B.H.Briz Kishore
1985 Dr.S.K.Tandon
1986 No Award
1987 Dr.R.K.Tiwari
1988 Dr.A.K.Singhvi
1989 Dr.S.Dasgupta
1990 No Award
1991 Dr.S.S.Rai
1992 No Award
1993 Dr.Kusala Rajendran
1994 Dr.Rajiv Nigam
1995 Dr. Anil Kumar
1996 Dr. K.S.Krishna, Dr. Kalachand Sain
1997 Dr. P.Divakar Naidu
1998 Dr. Ranadhir Mukhopadhyay
1999 Dr. A.K.Chaubey
2000 Dr. M.Radhakrishna, Dr. Y.V.B.Sarma
2001 Dr. P.Sengupta
2002 Dr.Daya Sagar
2003 No Award
2004 Dr. U Kulshrestha, Dr. Ajay Manglik
2005 Dr. V. Chakravarthi
2006 Dr. V.K. Gahalaut, Dr. Niloy Khare
2007 Dr. N.V. Chalapathi Rao, Dr. Laxmidhar Behera
2008 Dr. V.M. Tiwari, Dr. Abhayaram Bansal
2009 Dr. J.S.Ray
2010 Dr. Prakash Kumar, Dr. Hetu C.Sheth
2011 Dr. Pradeep Srivatsava, Dr. B Prasanta Kumar Patro
2012 Dr. M. Ram Mohan, Dr. Rajesh Agnihotri
2013 Dr Saumen Maiti, Dr. Senthil Kumar
2014 Dr. Pawan Dewangan
2015 Dr. Parthasarathi Chakraborty, Dr. M.S. Girish Kumar
2016 Dr. Uma Shankar
2017 Dr. Nimisha Vedanti and Dr. Develeena Mani