IGU'S STUDENTS CHAPTER DEPARTMENT OF GEOPHYSICS ANDHRA UNIVERSITY

A Brief Report of IGU Student Chapter Activity

The inaugural function of IGU student chapter at the Department of Geophysics, Andhra University was held on 17th February, 2018. Dr. Shailesh Nayak, President, IGU & Former Secretary, MoES presided over the function and declared the Student Chapter that is coming into effect from 17th February, 2018.

The student chapter of IGU was inaugurated by Honourable Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University with the following members:

Designation	Name	Course
Faculty Advisor	Prof. P. Rama Rao	I/c Head, Dept. of Geophysics
President	Mr. G.Vamsidhar Reddy	III M.Sc. (Tech) Geophysics
Vice- President	Mr. V. Achut Srinivas	II M.Sc. Marine Geophysics
Secretary	Mr. C. Nagasatyanarayana	II M.Sc. (Tech) Geophysics

Mr. K. Anil Kumar

Treasurer

Constituted Body effective for the Academic year 2017-18

EXECUTIVE MEMBER

III M.Sc. (Tech) Geophysics

Name	Course
1. Mr. B. Pavan Krishnudu	II M.Sc. (Tech.) Geophysics
2. Mr. P. Surya Kamal	III M.Sc. (Tech) Geophysics
3. Ms. V. Rose Elezibith	II M.Sc. Marine Geophysics
4. Ms. G. V. Satya Vani	II M.Sc. (Tech.) Geophysics

In his inaugural address, the Chief Guest, Honourable Vice-Chancellor Prof. G. Nageswara Rao, appreciated the wonderful gesture of IGU to start student chapter in the Department of Geophysics and advised the students to be more proactive in organizing the activities of the chapter to get the best among the other chapters elsewhere in the country. The Guest of Honour Prof. T. Vinoda Rao, Principal, AU College of Science & Technology also welcomed the new IGU student chapter and appreciated the excellent services rendered by Dr. P.R. Reddy, the Chief Editor, Journal of IGU. The Head of the Department Prof. P. Rama Rao welcomed all the dignitaries and briefed the activities taken up by the Department. Honorary Secretary, IGU gave a brief report of IGU activities.

The Chief Editor, Journal of IGU, Dr. P.R. Reddy is honoured for his excellent services rendered for the growth of the journal in addition to establishing himself as a reputed scientist in controlled seismology by the President of IGU and the Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University.

The Guest of Honour, Principal, AUCST also honoured Dr. P.R. Reddy on behalf of the Department of Geology, Andhra University.

Dr. Anand Chaturvedi, Secretary, AEG, Guest of Honour also congratulated the team of IGU student chapter for their better performance.

The students who won prizes in quiz, essay and elocution competitions (list furnished below)

1) Quiz Winners		
Winners		
M. Durga Prasad 2 nd M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
U. Naga Vijaya 1 st M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
T. Bhavani 2 nd M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
S. Sai Laxmi 1 st M.Sc. Marine Geophysics		
R. Venkatesh 1 st M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
P. Latha Sri 2 nd M.Sc. Marine Geophysics		
2) ESSAY WRITING WINNERS		
First Prize : I. Yamuna 1 st M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
Second Prize : S. Sarasija 2 nd M.Sc. Tech Geophysics		
3) ELOCUTION		
First Prize : Y. Divya Roopa 1 st M.Sc. Marine Geophysics		
Second Prize : V. Pradyumne 2 nd M.Sc. Marine Geophysics		

The Chief Guest, The President, IGU, the Guests of Honour and the Honorary Secretary, IGU is felicitated by the Department of Geophysics, Andhra University. Sri B. Ananda Gajapathi Raju proposed the formal vote of thanks.

The following activities were held under the auspicious of IGU Student Chapter during 16th & 17th February, 2018.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak, President, IGU & Former Secretary, MoES has delivered a distinguished lecture "Towards Understanding of Triggered Earthquakes" on 17th February, 2018.

Dr. P.R. Reddy, Scientist G (Retd.), NGRI has delivered a distinguished lecture "Growing Importance of Earth System Science in enhancing the quality of Life on the Earth" on 17th February, 2018.

Dr. Kalachand Sain, Hon. Secretary, IGU delivered two lecture series one day before the student chapter inauguration i.e. on 16th February, 2018.

- (1) Seismic Tomography
- (2) Gas Hydrates Exploration using controlled seismics

During the 2nd week of February, 2018 competitions like quiz (G.K. & Earth Sciences), essay writing (coal basins in India), and elocution (earth & environment) were conducted and the winners in these competitions were selected by a Committee consisting of Sri K. Prahladh and Sri B. Ananda Gajapathi Raju, Assistant Professors, Department of Geophysics, Andhra University. The winners in the competitions were given merit certificates during the inauguration.







(P. RAMA RAO) I/c Head of the Department & Faculty Advisor, IGU Students Chapter